If at first you don’t succeed…

I don’t know what it is about this plant! So far, I have not had success with keeping a thanksgiving cactus (schlumbergera) alive, although people say it’s really easy to care for and to propagate.

The one I picked up from a colleague who was leaving died this year. I only water my office plants every two weeks. It was rotting at the bottom which made me think wet roots, but that didn’t fit with how often I was watering and the fact that it was in a clay pot, which dries out the soil faster than other pots.

IMG_7358 dgt.jpg

I really thought that after I nearly killed it by forgetting it in a dark cupboard that it wouldn’t make it, but it started to come back to life until it recently rotted at the base.

I bought a new plant a few weeks ago. Fresh soil, clean clay pot, watering when the soil is dry… and I’ve lost a bunch of leaves already.

IMG_8293 dgt.jpg

The bottom segment of the plant was rotted. Perhaps there wasn’t good air circulation down there and it stayed wet.

This article has some really good information on care, how to produce blooms, and common issues which will definitely come in handy.

IMG_7767 dgt.jpg

I’ve tried sticking the leaves into the soil as shown here or laying them on top of the soil — techniques that people have said work — and spritzing the soil so it stays moist, but none of them have managed to take root. They’ve all shriveled up and died.

IMG_8310 dgt.jpg

Decided to try again. This time I put plastic over the top of this pot to create a humid environment. Hopefully this will promote root development. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

